Godfrey’s musings: My short film, “I’m ten thousand miles away from home” (Part 8)

My childhood best friend is Polish.  His family escaped from Communist Poland before the fall of the Soviet Union.  His father defected from the Polish Army and drove with his family to Greece, where his family lived in a refugee camp until they was allowed to emigrate to Canada as refugees.

Although he and I came from different origins, we shared a common past, having left our motherland at times of uncertainty.  Our longing for home and our stubbornness in holding onto our past bonded us together.  Whilst in college, I made a short film about him, for whom I have the greatest respect.

“I’m ten thousand miles away from home”

Leave a Reply

