On children’s education: Why you might think Godfrey Chan is wrong (Part 2)

In Part 1 of the “Children’s Education” series, I argued why “贏在射精前” is wrong and concluded that creativity and innovation, and not mere rote learning, lead to “success” (note that I did not define “success” – I will leave this for later parts of the series).

In this Part 2, I will make a few comments on why you might be skeptical of what I said.

“But Godfrey, not everyone has the luxury to do what they love!”

True.  I won’t dispute that.  As I have mentioned, each society has its own constraints, and nothing in this world is perfect.  Many people may not have the luxury of choosing their passions, be it they have to take care of their parents, have financial burdens, etc.  Those restraints are very real, and many in Hong Kong do face those difficulties.

However, I think there are many others would simply wish their children to be truly happy, first and foremost, rich or poor.  My comments were really directed at those people who may benefit by reflecting on what I said, and determine for themselves which is the best way to raise their children.  I hope at least some children could get their childhoods back.  I believe that children have a right to have happy childhoods.

“But Godfrey, unlike you, not everyone is good at studying!”

This is a great comment.  This actually leads to a further question – what is important in life to become “successful”?  First, let me say that I was not always the best in school (this is the truth).  My grades were pretty good, but I was never the best student.  I would even venture to say that my true success in school were building good relationships with my teachers.  My teachers knew I was not the best one academically, but I was always the most passionate.

My teachers remember me.  And when I failed at something, they lent a helping hand and pulled me up.  And I was truly, honestly grateful.  The keyword is “good relationships”.  Good relationships are vital in every field, whether in schools or in the industry.  Because I truly cared about my studies and valued my teachers’ advice, I would frequently ask my teachers for comments on my assignments, papers, etc.

When I have gotten a bad grade, I would ask why, and they would very patiently explain how I could do better next time.  And following their advice, I would inevitably get a great grade next time.  I was always very, very grateful, because I knew that everything I had achieved was due to my teachers.  And when opportunities arose, I was the first one in their mind, simply because they had thought of me first.

See, I was never the best at studying, but through my passion, I have accidentally built up great relationships with my teachers who watched my back.  My best academic achievements were great friendships with teachers, and not mere studying.  Great relationships require investing your time and heart into building them.  You need to be genuine.

Great relationships are vital in every field, and I believe we should teach our children to be genuine and thankful to others, so they will get meaningful results at the finish line, even if they fall along the way.

Leave a Reply

